Leaking capacitor on monitor

Dinkleburg

Mar 1, 2014
Hello all, this is my first post on this forum so apologies if I get something wrong in advance.

I've had some flickering of brightness levels on a monitor that I was given so I decided to take it apart when it totally died on me, it turns on and shows the desktop for a few seconds then turns off again and it buzzes really loudly, I think it's a capacitor problem but this is my first time trying to fix a monitor like this, so I thought I'd ask someone who knew what they were looking for if this is actually a broken capacitor? Apologies for the poor quality picture

IMG_0219_zps32595af5.jpg
[/URL]

Harvey

Administrator<br>Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
The white stuff under the big electrolytic capactitor is not leaked material. More likely, it's hot glue used to hold it down to prevent mechanical shock from cracking the solder joints where it's connected to the circuit board when the set is moved or shaken.

The buzzing sound suggests the problem is in the power supply, and it could be a capacitor or some other component. If the backlight is fluorescent, rather than LED, it could also come from the high voltage inverter circuitry.

If it's that big capacitor, one possible clue would be that the top of the cap (at the right end in your pic) may appear bulged or dome shaped, but I can't tell from the pic. Also, check any other electrolytic caps for the same symptom and for any evidence of leakage around the bottom of those caps. However, electrolytic caps could also be bad without visible symptoms.

You'll need a tech to determine the problem and give you an estimate for the cost of repairing it. If it's something in the power supply, it may be worth fixing. If it's a fluorescent backlight, it could cost more to repair it than to replace it.

Hope that helps. Good luck. :)

Last edited:

KingFatty

Diamond Member
Dec 29, 2010
Feel free to post more pictures so we can take a look around.